Joe Hirsch Speaker Forum

Each semester, the RTIP brings guest lectures into the classroom to provide the students with first hand knowledge of all aspects of the racing industry; speakers bring current real-life expertise and provide students a diversity of knowledge and contacts to enhance their time spent at the RTIP.

About 10 speakers a semester representing racetrack executives, animal owners, trainers and breeders as well as leaders of many national trade organizations or racing related businesses enter the classroom and all RTIP students are encouraged to take advantage of their visits.

Follow each link to download the RTIP News Release [PDF]

2017 Guest Speakers
  • Judy Horton -- Event Coordinator, Wyoming Downs 
  • Dionne Benson -- Executive Director, Racing Medication and Testing Consortium
  • Eddie Arroyo -- Chief Steward, Illinois Racing Board  
  • Frank Hopf — Senior Director of Racing Operations, Sam Houston Race Park
  • Dr. Melanie Stopeck — Managing Director, Talent Management and Organizational Development, Citigroup
  • Mary Scollay — Equine Medical Director, Kentucky Horse Racing Commission
  • Paul Monroe — Vice President of Marketing, Lone Star Park
  • Richard Migliore — Retired Jockey and Race Analyst
  • Andrew Turro — Lawyer, Meyer, Suozzi, English & Klein P.C.
2016 Guest Speakers
2015 Guest Speakers
2014 Guest Speakers
2013 Guest Speakers
  • George "Skip" Carlson — Vice President, External Affairs and Signature Service, Saratoga & Casino Raceway
  • Pauliina Raento  —  Research Director, Finnish Foundation for Gaming Research and Professor of Human Geography at the University of Helsinki
  • Marsha Kelly — President, Kelly Media Consulting
  • Kevin Mullally & Mark Brnovich — General Counsel and Director of Government Relations, Gaming Laboratories International; Executive Director, Arizona Department of Gaming
  • Dr. Torri Maxwell — Technical Veterinarian, Luitpold Pharmaceuticals
  • Mike Tanner — Executive Vice President and CEO, United States Trotting Association
  • Mark Thurman — President and CEO, CHRIMS
  • Matt Hegarty — Industry Reporter, Daily Racing Form
  • Dr. Scott Stanley — Associate Professor, UC Davis School of Veterinary Medicine
  • Dr. Rick Arthur — Equine Medical Director, California Horse Racing Board
  • Eddie Arroyo — Senior Steward, Illinois Racing Board and former jockey
  • Raj Mutti — Regional General Manager of B.C. Racing, Great Canadian Gaming
  • Vince Mares — Executive Director, New Mexico Racing Commission
 2012 Guest Speakers
  • Arthur Maberry — Agent, Brooks Maberry Inc. Equine Insurance
  • Kathleen Berkey — President, Berkey Bloodstock Services, Inc.
  • Leslie Janecka — Coordinator, KEMI (Kentucky Equine Management Internship)
  • Eric Andersen — Bloodstock Agent
  • Andrew Offerman — New Media & Live Racing Coordinator, Canterbury Park
  • Dennis Miller — Executive Director, CANTER Arizona
  • Dean Hoffman — Hoffman Communications LLC (former Editor in Chief of Hoof Beats magazine)
  • Nick Nicholson — President and CEO, Keeneland Association, Inc.
  • Stuart Glogoff — Senior Consultant, UA Office of Instruction and Assessment
  • Dr. Ross Rich — Owner, Cave Creek Equine Surgical & Diagnostic
  • Dr. Mary Scollay — Equine Medical Director, Kentucky Horse Racing Commission (KHRC)
  • Dr. Scott Stanley — Director, UC Davis Kenneth L. Maddy Equine Analytical Chemistry Laboratory
  • Dr. Heather Knych — UC Davis
  • Mike Tanner — Executive Vice President & CEO, United States Trotting Association (USTA)
  • Vic Stauffer — Track Announcer, Betfair Hollywood Park and California racing steward
  • Tom Varela — Vice President, Monarch Content Management
  • Kevin Mullally — General Counsel & Director-Government Relations, Gaming Laboratories International LLC

 View videos of past speakers on YouTube and read a list of speakers who spoke to RTIP students in 2011 and previous years (2006-2010).

Photo: Dean Hoffman